J.T. Thorpe Trust Announces 53.7% Payment Percentage; Implementation Is Still Pending
The J.T. Thorpe Settlement Trust posted a September 18 notice announcing a payment-percentage increase from 50% to 53.7% of total liquidated claim value. The notice says claims will be paid under the change after necessary claims-system and payment-procedure updates are completed; it does not state that implementation was complete on September 18.
View primary source: J.T. Thorpe Settlement Trust — J.T. Thorpe Payment Percentage Review (posted Sept. 18, 2026)The J.T. Thorpe Settlement Trust posted a payment-percentage notice stating that its Trustees, with the consent of the Trust Advisory Committee and Futures Representative, increased the Payment Percentage from 50% to 53.7% of total liquidated claim value.1
The September 18, 2026 notice is a substantive public change. It also contains an important implementation limit: the Trust says claims will be paid in accordance with the new percentage after necessary claims-processing-system and payment-procedure updates are completed. The notice does not state that those updates were complete on September 18 or provide a completed implementation date.1
What the official notice says
| Officially stated item | What the notice supports |
|---|---|
| Prior payment percentage | 50% of total liquidated claim value. |
| Announced payment percentage | 53.7% of total liquidated claim value. |
| Notice date | September 18, 2026. |
| Operational status | The Trust says necessary claims-system and payment-procedure updates must be completed before claims are paid under the change. |
| Previously paid claims | The Trust says eligible previously paid claims should receive additional amounts due by the end of November 2026. This is a stated expectation, not a completed-payment record. |
The public source is the Trust’s homepage notice. It does not identify a separate effective date, a new net-asset balance, a new cumulative-payment amount, or a claimant-specific award.1
How the tracker records the change
AsbestosTrusts.org now records the 53.7% figure on the J.T. Thorpe (California) trust record as an announced rate with implementation pending. That label is deliberate: the source supports the Trustees’ announced increase, but it expressly conditions payments under the changed rate on later administrative updates.1
The tracker does not use the notice to alter J.T. Thorpe’s existing December 31, 2025 net-claimants’-equity figure or its separately sourced cumulative-payment figure. A payment-percentage notice is evidence about the payment framework; it is not evidence of a new balance-sheet figure or an inception-to-date payout total.
Confirmed: J.T. Thorpe announced an increase from 50% to 53.7% on September 18, 2026, and the official notice states that necessary implementation updates remain to be completed.
Not established by the notice: A completed implementation date, a completed supplemental-payment program, a new trust balance, a new cumulative payout total, or an individual claimant’s payment.
Why the implementation qualification matters
A payment percentage is part of a trust’s payment framework. It should not be read as a standalone claim-value promise. The applicable trust procedures, claim-review path, claim value, eligibility determination, and the status of the announced implementation all matter. This article therefore does not calculate an individual payment or predict whether a particular claimant will receive a supplemental amount.
The Trust’s statement about eligible previously paid claims is likewise prospective. It says those claims should receive additional amounts due by the end of November 2026; it is not evidence that additional amounts have already been issued.1
Source and editorial note
This brief relies on the J.T. Thorpe Settlement Trust’s official homepage notice. It reports the stated percentage, prior percentage, notice date, and implementation qualification without inferring an unstated effective date, a completed payment event, or an individual result. It is general public research, not legal advice. No article-specific attorney review is recorded for this publication.